2021 Info for Candidates

Official Calendars

2021 Illinois State Board of Elections Guides

Statement of Economic Interests

Any Statement of Economic Interests form provided by and filed with the Cook County Clerk's office discloses the information required by law and will meet the statutory filing requirement for candidates.

Candidates can print out the Statement of Economic Interests form below and deliver it to the Clerk's downtown office (69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602) or any of the Clerk's suburban courthouse office locations (Rolling Meadows, Skokie, Bridgeview, Maywood and Markham).

Candidate Contact Form

Please complete the Candidate Contact Form and file with your nomination papers or email the form to colleen.gleason@cookcountyil.gov. Do NOT bind with the nomination papers.

Candidate Filing

For the Tuesday, February 23, 2021 Consolidated Primary Election the candidate filing period for established party and nonpartisan municipal office candidates is Monday, November 16 – Monday, November 23.

For the Tuesday, April 6, 2021 Consolidated Election the candidate filing period for independent, new party and nonpartisan candidates is Monday, December 14 – Monday, December 21.

Withdrawal of Candidacy

To withdraw your candidacy, please complete the Withdrawal of Candidacy form, have it notarized, and file it with the office where you submitted your original nominating petitions. If you filed your petitions with the Cook County Clerk's office, you should deliver or mail your form to the Clerk's downtown office: 69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602. Emails and faxes are not accepted.
 

Important Dates for the Tuesday, February 23, 2021 Consolidated Primary Election

Candidate Filing Dates & Deadlines

Tuesday, August 25: First day to circulate petitions for established political parties and nonpartisan candidates (municipalities)

Monday, November 16 – Monday, November 23: Petition filing period for established political party candidates & nonpartisan candidates (municipalities) 

Wednesday, December 2: Last day for filing objections to nomination papers of candidates who filed during the November 16 – November 23 filing period 
    *Last day to withdraw (incompatible offices)
    *Last day to conduct ballot placement lottery

Thursday, December 17: Last day to file a Withdrawal of Candidacy with the local election official or authority  

Thursday, December 24: Last day to file a notarized Declaration of Intent to be a Write–in Candidate 

 

Referenda Question Deadlines

Monday, November 23: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the local election official

Monday, December 7: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding public question to appear on the ballot

 

Certification of Ballot Deadline

Thursday, December 17: Last day for the local election official to certify candidates, offices and any referenda questions to the election authority 

 

Voter Registration, Grace Period, Early Voting & Mail Voting Dates

Friday, January 8: Military & overseas ballots available 

Thursday, January 14: First day to mail ballots (if available)    

Tuesday, January 26: Voter registration closes for deputy registrars and local election officials

Wednesday, January 27 – Monday, February 22: Grace period registration & voting period 

Sunday, February 7: Online voter registration closes 

Monday, February 8 – Monday, February 22: Early Voting period 

Thursday, February 18: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail

Friday, February 19: Nursing home voting


Important Dates for the Tuesday, April 6, 2021 Consolidated Election

Candidate Filing Dates & Deadlines

Tuesday, September 22: First day to circulate petitions for independent, new political parties and nonpartisan offices

Tuesday, December 1: Date on which the Township Caucus shall be held

Monday, December 7: Date on which the Municipal Caucus shall be held (in municipalities under 5,000 population) which have established political parties 

Monday, December 14 – Monday, December 21: Petition filing period for nomination petitions of new political parties, nonpartisan and independent candidates as well as certificates of nomination for established party caucus candidates

Tuesday, December 29: Last day to file objections to nomination petitions of new political party, nonpartisan and independent candidates as well as certificates of nomination for established party caucus candidates who filed during the December 14 – 21 filing period
    *Last day to withdraw (incompatible offices)

Wednesday, December 30: Last day to conduct ballot placement lottery

Thursday, January 28: Last day to file a Withdrawal of Candidacy with the local election official or authority  

Thursday, February 4: Last day to file a notarized declaration of intent to be a write–in candidate (5 p.m.) 

 

Referenda Question Deadlines

Monday, January 4: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the local election official

Tuesday, January 19: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding public question to appear on the ballot

 

Certification of Ballot Deadline

Thursday, January 28: Last day for the local election official to certify candidates, offices and any referenda questions to the election authority  

 

Voter Registration, Grace Period, Early Voting & Mail Voting Dates

Friday, February 19: Military & overseas ballots available 

Tuesday, February 25: First day to mail ballots (if available)

Tuesday, March 9: Voter registration closes for deputy registrars and local election officials

Wednesday, March 10 – Monday, April 5: Grace period registration & voting period 

Sunday, March 21: Online voter registration closes 

Monday, March 22 – Monday, April 5: Early voting period 

Thursday, April 1: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail

Friday, April 2: Nursing home voting 
 

Disclaimer: This is not legal advice. The Cook County Clerk’s office is providing this for general information purposes only. All candidates should consult with legal counsel regarding election matters. The Cook County Clerk’s office cannot recommend an attorney or give legal advice on these matters.

For the complete Election Calendar and Candidates Guide please visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Website: www.elections.il.gov