2019 Info for Candidates

Official Calendars

Candidate's Guide

Statement of Economic Interests

Any Statement of Economic Interests form provided by and filed with the Cook County Clerk's office discloses the information required by law and will meet the statutory filing requirement for candidates.

Candidates can print out the Statement of Economic Interests form below and deliver it to the Clerk's downtown office (69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602) or any of the Clerk's suburban courthouse office locations (Rolling Meadows, Skokie, Bridgeview, Maywood and Markham).

Candidate Contact Form

Please complete the Candidate Contact Form and file with your nomination papers or email the form to colleen.gleason@cookcountyil.gov. Do NOT bind with the nomination papers.

Candidate Filing

For the February 26, 2019 Consolidated Primary Election: The candidate filing period for established political party candidates & nonpartisan candidates (municipalities) will take place Monday, November 19 – Monday, November 26. 

For the April 2, 2019 Conslidated Election: the candidate filing period for new political parties, nonpartisan and independent candidates as well as certificates of nomination for established party caucus candidates will take place Monday, December 10 - Monday, December 17. School Board Candidate Filing Information.

Withdrawal of Candidacy

To withdraw your candidacy, please complete the Withdrawal of Candidacy form, have it notarized, and file it with the office where you submitted your original nominating petitions. If you filed your petitions with the Cook County Clerk's office, you should deliver or mail your form to the Clerk's downtown office: 69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602. Emails and faxes are not accepted.
 

Important Dates for the February 26, 2019 Consolidated Primary Election

Candidate Filing Dates & Deadlines

Tuesday, August 28: First day to circulate petitions for established political parties and nonpartisan candidates (municipalities)

Monday, November 19 – Monday, November 26: Petition filing period for established political party candidates & nonpartisan candidates (municipalities)

Monday, December 3: Last day for filing objections to nomination papers of candidates who filed during the November 19 – November 26 filing period
*Last day to withdraw (incompatible offices)

Wednesday, December 7: Last day to conduct ballot placement lottery

Thursday, December 20: Last day to file a Withdrawal of Candidacy with the local election official

Thursday, December 27: Last day to file a notarized declaration of intent to be a write–in candidate (5 p.m.)


Referendum Question Deadlines

Monday, November 26: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the local election authority

Monday, December 10: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding public question to appear on the ballot


Voter Registration, Grace Period, Early Voting and Mail Voting Dates

Friday, January 11: Military & overseas ballots available

Thursday, January 17: Statutory start of Early Voting
    
Tuesday, January 29: Voter registration closes for deputy registrars and local election officials

Wednesday, January 30 – Monday, February 25: Grace period registration & voting

Sunday, February 10: Online voter registration closes

Monday, February 11 – Monday, February 25: Early Voting period

Thursday, February 21: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail

Friday, February 22: Nursing home voting

 

For the complete Election Calendar and Candidates Guide please visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Website: www.elections.il.gov
 

 



Important Dates for the April 2, 2019 Consolidated Election

Candidate Filing Dates & Deadlines

Tuesday, September 18: First day to circulate petitions for independent, new political parties and nonpartisan offices

Monday, December 3: Municipal Caucus for municipalities which have established political parties (under 5,000 population)

Monday, December 10 – Monday, December 17: Petition filing period for nomination petitions of new political parties, nonpartisan and independent candidates as well as certificates of nomination for established party caucus candidates

Monday, December 24: Last day to file objections to nomination petitions of new political party, nonpartisan and independent candidates as well as certificates of nomination for established party caucus candidates who filed during the December 10 – 17 filing period  *Last day to withdraw (incompatible offices)

Wednesday, December 26: Last day to conduct ballot placement lottery

Thursday, January 24: Last day to file a Withdrawal of Candidacy with the local election official or authority  

Thursday, January 31: Last day to file a notarized declaration of intent to be a write–in candidate (5 p.m.)


Referenda Question Deadlines

Monday, December 31: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the local election authority

Monday, January 14: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding public question to appear on the ballot


Certification of Ballot Deadlines

Thursday, January 24: Certification of Ballot by local election authorities


Voter Registration, Grace Period, Early Voting & Mail Voting Dates

Friday, February 15: Military & overseas ballots available

Thursday, February 21: Statutory start of Early Voting

Tuesday, March 5: Voter registration closes for deputy registrars and local election officials

Wednesday, March 6 – Monday, April 1: Grace period registration & voting

Sunday, March 17: Online voter registration closes

Monday, March 18 – Monday, April 1: Early voting period

Thursday, March 28: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail

Friday, March 29: Nursing home voting

Disclaimer: This is not legal advice. The Cook County Clerk’s office is providing this for general information purposes only. All candidates should consult with legal counsel regarding election matters. The Cook County Clerk’s office cannot recommend an attorney or give legal advice on these matters.

For the complete Election Calendar and Candidates Guide please visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Website: www.elections.il.gov