February 2, 2010 – Primary Election Schedule, Signature Requirements

Date: 
June 22, 2009
Press Release
Elections

Circulation Dates

  • Tuesday, August 4: First day to circulate nomination papers for established political party candidates.

Candidate Filing Dates

Federal, State and Judicial candidates file with the Illinois State Board of Elections in Springfield. Candidates for County-wide offices, Cook County Commissioner, the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, the Board of Review, Regional Superintendent of Schools, and suburban Township Committeemen file with the Cook County Clerk.

  • Monday, October 26 – Monday, November 2: Filing period for established political party candidates to file original nomination papers/petitions.
  • Thursday, December 3: Last day to file a Declaration of Intent to be a Write-In Candidate (5 p.m.). (Exception: candidates removed from the ballot by an electoral board have until Tuesday, January 26, 2010 to file.)
  • Wednesday, December 9: Last statutory day for established political party candidates to file withdrawal of nomination papers in the office of the county clerk.

Objection Dates

  • Monday, November 9: Last day for filing objections to nomination papers of candidates who filed during the October 26 – November 2 filing period (except township committeemen). Objections are filed with the election authority where the nomination papers were originally filed.
  • Friday, November 13: Last day for filing objections to nomination papers of township committeemen.
  • Monday, November 23: Last day to file objections to petitions for the submission of questions of public policy. Objections to petitions for local referenda are filed with the same office that has the original petitions.


Referenda Deadlines

  • Monday, November 16: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the appropriate election official or local election official.
  • Monday, November 30: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding public question to appear on the ballot.

Certification of Ballot Deadlines

  • Thursday, December 3: Last day for the State Board of Elections to certify the names of candidates to the county clerks. Last day for local election authorities to certify any question of public policy to the election authority. Last day for the county clerk to certify to the board of election commissioners any referenda to be voted on in its jurisdiction.
  • Wednesday, December 9: Last day for the county clerk to certify to the board of election commissioners the names of candidates to be voted on in its jurisdiction.


Voter Registration, Grace Period, Early Voting and Absentee Voting

  • Thursday, December 24: First day for a registered voter to apply for an absentee ballot by mail or in person.
  • Tuesday, January 5: Regular voter registration deadline.
  • Wednesday, January 6 – Tuesday, January 26: Grace period registration and voting.
  • Monday, January 11 – Thursday, January 28: Early voting.
  • Thursday, January 28: Last day to apply for an absentee ballot by mail.
  • Friday, January 29 – Monday, February 1: In-person absentee voting.

Ballot Counting & Canvassing Results

  • Thursday, February 4: Last day a provisional voter may submit additional information to the County Clerk to verify registration status.
  • Tuesday, February 16: Deadline for validating and counting provisional ballots and late-arriving absentee ballots.
  • Tuesday, February 23: Last day for County Clerk to canvass election results.


Signature Requirements
Please see attached pdf for signature requirements.

Disclaimer: This is not legal advice. The Cook County Clerk’s office is providing this for general information purposes only. All Candidates should consult with legal counsel regarding election matters. The Cook County Clerk’s office cannot recommend an attorney or give legal advice on these matters.

For the complete Election Calendar and Candidates Guide please visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Website: elections.state.il.us.

February 2, 2010 – Primary Election General Information