Candidate Order Decided in Ballot Position Lottery

December 11, 2017
Press Release

Cook County Clerk David Orr and Director of Elections Noah Praetz held ballot lotteries today to determine the candidate ballot positions in the March 20, 2018 Gubernatorial Primary Election.

In total, 18 drawings – 14 for the first ballot spot and four for the last spot – were held for a total of 15 primary races – all for Democratic primary races. The lotteries for the first position on the ballot were comprised of candidates competing for the same office who filed their nomination petitions simultaneously on November 27 at 9 a.m., the first day of candidate filing.

A separate lottery was held for candidates vying for the last spot on the ballot – theses candidates filed their nomination petitions on December 4 between 4 p.m. and 5 p.m.

Anyone who filed after 9 a.m. on November 27 and before 3:59 p.m. on December 4 will be on the ballot in the order they turned in their nomination paperwork.

At 11 a.m. at the Clerk’s downtown Chicago office, Orr and Praetz stuffed slips of paper into bottles for each race and tossed the bottles into a fishbowl. The bowl was shaken and the order in which Orr picked the bottles determined ballot order for each race.

The list and status of candidates who filed with the Orr’s office will be updated periodically on the Clerk’s new website to reflect who has withdrawn their candidacy and whose candidacy has been challenged. Objections are due by 5 p.m. on Monday, December 11.

The Cook County Electoral Board is scheduled to meet on Monday, December 18 at 10 a.m. to adopt rules and procedures—no objections will be heard on that day. Initial hearings before a hearing officer will be conducted on December 19. The hearing officer makes their recommendations to the Electoral Board, which then rules on the objection. A detailed schedule of the hearing times will be updated on the Clerk’s website.

The results of the Ballot Position Lottery are below, in the order candidates will appear on the ballot:

First Name on Ballot Lottery

Democratic Party

Commissioner, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, 6 Year Term
Marcelino Garcia
Debra Shore (Slate)
Kari K. Steele  (Slate)
Martin J. Durkan (Slate) 

Cook County Assessor
Joseph Berrios
Frederick 'Fritz' Kaegi 

Cook County Treasurer
Peter Gariepy   
Maria Pappas

Cook County Commissioner, 1st District
Richard R. Boykin
Brandon Johnson            

Cook County Commissioner, 2nd District
Paul J. Montes II
Dennis Deer

Cook County Commissioner, 3rd District
Joshua Gray
Bill Lowry
Patricia Horton
Charise A. Williams
Steven R. Wolfe

Cook County Commissioner, 4th District
Maria M. Barlow
Stanley S. Moore

Cook County Commissioner, 5th District
Deborah Sims
Timothy 'Tim' Parker

Cook County Commissioner, 6th District
Patricia Joan Murphy
Louis Presta
Donna Miller

Cook County Commissioner, 8th District
Luis Arroyo Jr.
Victor Manuel Cuebas II

Cook County Commissioner, 12th District
John Fritchey
Bridget Degnen

Cook County Commissioner, 13th District
Bushra Amiwala
Larry Suffredin

Cook County Commissioner, 15th District
Kevin B. Morrison
Ravi Raju

Norwood Park Township, Democratic Committeeman
Frank Avino, Jr.
Dan Donnelly

Last Name on Ballot Lottery

Democratic Party

Cook County Clerk
Stephanie Joy Jackson-Rowe (2nd to last on the ballot)
Jan Kowalski McDonald (last on the ballot)

Cook County Commissioner, 2nd District
Lupe Aguirre (3rd to last on the ballot)
Darryl D. Smith (2nd to last on the ballot)
Eddie Johnson III (last on the ballot)

Cook County Commissioner, 4th District
Gaylon Alcaraz (2nd to last on the ballot)
Robert R. McKay (last on the ballot)

Cook County Commissioner, 5th District
Audrey Lynn Tanksley (2nd to last on the ballot)
Dexter Johnson (last on the ballot)