Candidate order decided in ballot lottery

November 9, 2009
Press Release

Cook County Clerk David Orr and Director of Elections Jan Kralovec conducted a lottery today to determine the candidate ballot positions in the Feb. 2, 2010 Primary Election.

Candidates competing for the same office who filed simultaneously at 9 a.m. on Oct. 26 participated in the lottery, which involved 49 candidates and 17 races.

At 10:30 a.m., Orr and Kralovec stuffed slips of paper into pill bottles, which then were tossed into a fish bowl. The first lottery was for the Democratic Cook County Board President race. Orr pulled out the bottle containing Toni Preckwinkle's name, followed by Terrence O'Brien, Danny Davis and Dorothy Brown.

Orr explained that if a candidate withdraws his or her candidacy by today's 5 p.m. deadline, that person's name will be removed from the ballot and the other candidates will shift up in order.

All other candidates who filed to run for office after 9 a.m. on Oct. 26 until Nov. 2 will appear on the ballot according to the order in which they filed.

The results of the lottery:

Democratic Party

Cook County Board President
Toni Preckwinkle
Terrence J. O'Brien
Danny K. Davis
Dorothy A. Brown

County Assessor
Robert Shaw
Joseph Berrios

County Board Commissioner, 1st District
Earlean Collins
Mary Collins
Adekunle "Ade" B. Onayemi
Chris Harris
Derrick Smith

County Board Commissioner, 2nd District
Desiree Grode
Robert B. Steele

County Board Commissioner, 4th District Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
William M. Beavers

County Board Commissioner, 5th District
Deborah Sims
Sheila Y. Chalmers-Currin

County Board Commissioner, 6th District
Joan Patricia Murphy
Nick Valadez
John Fairman

County Board Commissioner, 8th District
Javier "Xavier" Nogueras
Edwin Reyes
Ariel Rosa

County Board Commissioner, 13th District
Larry Suffredin
John Michael Keefe

County Board Commissioner, 16th District
Bill Russ
Jeffrey R. Tobolski

County Board Commissioner, 17th District
Patrick Maher
Victor A. Forys

Water Reclamation District Commissioner
Stella B. Black
Barbara McGowan (Slate)
Michael A. Alvarez (Slate)
Mariyana T. Spyropoulos (Slate)
Kathleen Mary O'Reilley
Mary Ann Paolantonio Salemi
Theodore "Teddy" Aguilar
Wallace Davis, III
Maureen Kelly
Todd Connor

Hanover Township Committeeman
Gertrude "Trudy" Zaja
Jason Provenzano

Riverside Township Committeeman
John Michael Allegretti
Wilfred O. Brennan

Republican Party

Cook County Board President
Roger A. Keats
John Garrido, III

County Board Commissioner, 14th District
Patrick O’Donoghue
Gregg Goslin

Northfield Township Committeeman
June O'Donoghue
Jill A. Brickman

The list of candidates who filed will be updated periodically today to reflect who has withdrawn their candidacy and whose candidancy has been challenged. In the far-right status column, a "C" means the candidate has been challenged and a "W" means they have withdrawn.