Ballot Position Lottery Set for December 11

December 5, 2017
Press Release

What: Ballot Position Lottery to determine the first and last spots on the March 20, 2018 Gubernatorial Primary Election ballot.

When: Monday, December 11 at 11:00 a.m.

Where: Cook County Clerk David Orr's office, 69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor

More: Clerk Orr will conduct a lottery to determine the candidate ballot positions in the March 20, 2018 Gubernatorial Primary Election. The lottery will include 43 candidates in 15 races.

Candidates competing for the same office who filed simultaneously November 27 at 9:00 a.m. – the first day of candidate filing – will be included in the lottery for the top stop on the ballot.

Candidates running for the same office who filed between 4:00 and 5:00 p.m. on December 4 – the last day of filing – will be included in a separate ballot lottery for the last spot on the ballot.

All other candidates who filed to run for office after 9:00 a.m. on November 27 through 3:59 p.m. on December 4, will appear on the ballot according to the order in which they filed.

A full list of candidates can be found at




Democratic Party

Cook County Assessor
Joseph Berrios
Frederick 'Fritz' Kaegi

Cook County Treasurer
Peter Gariepy
Maria Pappas

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, 6 Year Term
Martin J. Durkan (Slate)
Debra Shore (Slate)
Kari K. Steele (Slate)
Marcelino Garcia

Cook County Commissioner, 1st District
Richard R. Boykin
Brandon Johnson

Cook County Commissioner, 2nd District
Dennis Deer
Paul J. Montes II

Cook County Commissioner, 3rd District
Joshua Gray
Patricia Horton
Bill Lowry
Charise A. Williams
Steven R. Wolfe

Cook County Commissioner, 4th District
Maria M. Barlow
Stanley S. Moore

Cook County Commissioner, 5th District
Timothy 'Tim' Parker
Deborah Sims

Cook County Commissioner, 6th District
Donna Miller
Patricia Joan Murphy
Louis Presta

Cook County Commissioner, 8th District
Luis Arroyo Jr.
Victor Manuel Cuebas II

Cook County Commissioner, 12th District
Bridget Degnen
John Fritchey

Cook County Commissioner, 13th District
Bushra Amiwala
Larry Suffredin

Cook County Commissioner, 15th District
Kevin B. Morrison
Ravi Raju

Norwood Park Township Committeeman
Frank Avino, Jr.
Dan Donnelly




Democratic Party

Cook County Clerk
Stephanie Joy Jackson-Rowe
Jan Kowalski McDonald

Cook County Commissioner, 2nd District
Lupe Aguirre
Eddie Johnson, III
Darryl D. Smith

Cook County Commissioner, 4th District
Gaylon Alcaraz
Robert R. McKay

Cook County Commissioner, 5th District
Dexter Johnson
Audrey Lynn Tanksley