David Orr, Cook County Clerk
         
Vital Records
Elections - Suburban Cook County
Real Estate and Tax Services
Ethics Filings
County Board Proceedings
News Room

Information for Candidates

Official Calendars

Candidate's Guide

Statement of Economic Interests

Any Statement of Economic Interests form provided by and filed with the Cook County Clerk's office discloses the information required by law and will meet the statutory filing requirement for candidates.

Candidates can print out the Statement of Economic Interests form below and deliver it to the Clerk's downtown office (69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602) or any of the Clerk's suburban courthouse office locations (Rolling Meadows, Skokie, Bridgeview, Maywood and Markham).

Candidate Contact Form

Please complete the Candidate Contact Form and file with your nomination papers or email the form to colleen.gleason@cookcountyil.gov. Do NOT bind with the nomination papers.

Candidate Filing

The candidate filing period for established political parties and nonpartisan municipalities will take place Monday, November 17 - Monday, November 24.

The candidate filing period for new political parties, independent candidates and nonpartisan candidates will take place between December 15 and December 22.  

Withdrawal of Candidacy

To withdraw your candidacy, please complete the Withdrawal of Candidacy form, have it notarized, and file it with the office where you submitted your original nominating petitions. If you filed your petitions with the Cook County Clerk's office, you should deliver or mail your form to the Clerk's downtown office: 69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602. Emails and faxes are not accepted.

Important Dates for the February 24, 2015 Consolidated Primary Election

Candidate Filing Dates & Deadlines

Tuesday, August 26:  First day to circulate petitions for established political parties and nonpartisan municipalities
Monday, November 17 – Monday, November 24:  Petition filing period for established political party candidates & nonpartisan municipalities
Wednesday, December 3: Last day for filing objections to nomination papers of candidates who filed during the November 17 – November 24 filing period
    *Last day to conduct lottery
    *Last day to withdraw (incompatible offices)

Thursday, December 18: Last day to file a Withdrawal of Candidacy with the local election official or authority 
Thursday, December 26: Last day to file a notarized declaration of intent to be a write–in candidate (5 p.m.).


Referenda Question Deadlines

Monday, November 24: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the local election authority.
Monday, December 8: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding public question to appear on the ballot. 


Certification of Ballot Deadlines

Thursday, December 18: Certification of Ballot by local election authorities


Voter Registration, Early Voting & Mail Voting

Friday, January 9:  Military & overseas ballots available
Thursday, January 15: First day to apply for a ballot by mail
Tuesday, January 27: Voter registration closes for deputy registrars and local election officials
Wednesday, January 28 – Saturday, February 21: Grace period registration & voting
Monday, February 9 – Saturday, February 21: Early voting period
Thursday, February 19: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail
Friday, February 20: Nursing home voting
Sunday, February 22 – Monday, February 23: In–person absentee voting

Disclaimer: This is not legal advice. The Cook County Clerk’s office is providing this for general information purposes only. All candidates should consult with legal counsel regarding election matters. The Cook County Clerk’s office cannot recommend an attorney or give legal advice on these matters.

For the complete Election Calendar and Candidates Guide please visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Website:  www.elections.state.il.us

________________________________________________________________________________________________


Important Dates for the April 7, 2015 Consolidated Election

Candidate Filing Dates & Deadlines

Tuesday, September 23: First day to circulate petitions for independent, new political parties and nonpartisan offices
Monday, December 1: Municipal Caucus for municipalities which have established parties (under 5,000 population)
Monday, December 15 – Monday, December 22: Petition filing period for nomination petitions of new political parties, nonpartisan and independent candidates as well as certificates of nomination for established party caucus candidates.
Tuesday, December 30: Last day to file objections to nomination petitions of new political party, nonpartisan and independent candidates as well as certificates of nomination for established party caucus candidates
   *Last day to withdraw (incompatible offices)
Wednesday, December 31: Last day to conduct lottery
Thursday, January 29: Last day to file a Withdrawal of Candidacy with the local election official or authority
Thursday, February 5: Last day to file a notarized declaration of intent to be a write–in candidate (5 p.m.).


Referenda Question Deadlines

Monday, January 5: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the local election authority.
Tuesday, January 20: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding public question to appear on the ballot.


Certification of Ballot Deadlines

Thursday, January 29: Certification of Ballot by local election authorities


Voter Registration, Early Voting & Mail Voting

Friday, February 20: Military & overseas ballots available
Thursday, February 26: First day to apply for a ballot by mail
Tuesday, March 10: Voter registration closes for deputy registrars and local election officials
Wednesday, March 11 – Saturday, April 4: Grace period registration & voting
Monday, March 23 – Saturday, April 4: Early voting period
Thursday, April 2: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail
Friday, April 3: Nursing home voting
Sunday, April 5 – Monday, April 6: In–person absentee voting

Disclaimer: This is not legal advice. The Cook County Clerk’s office is providing this for general information purposes only. All candidates should consult with legal counsel regarding election matters. The Cook County Clerk’s office cannot recommend an attorney or give legal advice on these matters.

For the complete Election Calendar and Candidates Guide please visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Website: www.elections.state.il.us