David Orr, Cook County Clerk
         

Information for Candidates

Official Calendars

Candidate's Guide

Statement of Economic Interests

Any Statement of Economic Interests form provided by and filed with the Cook County Clerk's office discloses the information required by law and will meet the statutory filing requirement for candidates.

Candidates can print out the Statement of Economic Interests form below and deliver it to the Clerk's downtown office (69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602) or any of the Clerk's suburban courthouse office locations (Rolling Meadows, Skokie, Bridgeview, Maywood and Markham).

Candidate Contact Form

Please complete the Candidate Contact Form and file with your nomination papers or email the form to colleen.gleason@cookcountyil.gov. Do NOT bind with the nomination papers.

Candidate Filing

The candidate filing period for new political parties, independent candidates and nonpartisan candidates will take place between June 16 and June 23. Click here for further information and frequently asked questions on candidate filing.

Withdrawal of Candidacy

To withdraw your candidacy, please complete the Withdrawal of Candidacy form, have it notarized, and file it with the office where you submitted your original nominating petitions. If you filed your petitions with the Cook County Clerk's office, you should deliver or mail your form to the Clerk's downtown office: 69 W. Washington, Fifth Floor, Chicago, IL 60602. Emails and faxes are not accepted.

Important Dates for the November 4, 2014 Gubernatorial Election

Candidate Filing Dates

Monday, June 2: Last day for appointee, by established managing committee to file documents when no candidate was nominated at the Primary election.
Monday, June 16 – Monday June 23: Candidate filing period for new political parties, independent candidates and nonpartisan candidates.
Thursday, September 4: Last day to file a notarized declaration of intent to be a write-in candidate.


Objection Dates

Monday, June 9: Last day to file objections to a resolution to fill a vacancy when no candidate was nominated at the Primary election.
Monday, June 30: Last day for filing objections to nomination papers of candidates who filed during the June 16 – 23 filing period. Objections are filed with the election authority where the nomination papers were originally filed.
Monday, August 11: Last day to file objections to petitions for the submission of questions of public policy. Objections to petitions for local referenda are filed with the same office that has the original petitions.


Referenda Dates

Monday, August 4: Last day for filing petitions for referenda for the submission of questions of public policy with the appropriate election official or local election official.
Monday, August 18: Last day for local governing boards to adopt a resolution or ordinance to allow a binding public question to appear on the ballot.


Certification of Ballot Dates

Friday, August 22: Certification of Ballot by the State Board of Elections (candidates & referenda).
Wednesday, August 27: Certification of Ballot to the City of Chicago (candidates).
Thursday, August 28: Last day for local election authorities to certify any question of public policy to the election authority. 
* Certification of Ballot to the City of Chicago (referenda).


Voter Registration, Grace Period, Early Voting and Mail Voting

Friday, September 19: Military & overseas ballots available.
Thursday, September 25: First day to apply for a ballot by mail.
Tuesday, October 7: Regular voter registration deadline.
Wednesday, October 8 – Saturday, November 1: Grace period registration and voting.
Monday, October 20 – Saturday, November 1: Early voting.
Thursday, October 30: Last day to apply for a ballot by mail.
Friday, October 31: Nursing home voting.
Sunday, November 2 – Monday, November 3: In-person voting.

Disclaimer: This is not legal advice. The Cook County Clerk’s office is providing this for general information purposes only. All candidates should consult with legal counsel regarding election matters. The Cook County Clerk’s office cannot recommend an attorney or give legal advice on these matters.

For the complete Election Calendar and Candidates Guide please visit the Illinois State Board of Elections Website:  www.elections.state.il.us